An introduction

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A little extract I read the other day, from Humans of Singapore:

“In school, my teacher and parent treat me like shit and call it ‘preparation for the real world’. In Uni my prof treat me like shit and call it ‘preparation for the real world’. Then I finally enter the real world, and walao guess what? My boss treat me like shit. For one whole year! And later he tell me how it’s for my own good. So the next day I show him the finger and quit. And when he ask why, I tell him I prepare him for the real world.”

“So what do you do now?”

“Got my own coffee shop. Self job is best job.”

In spite of the informal language, I agree with this extract. Preparation for the real world? Often we are often blinded by our illusions of happy moments; of happy endings. One by one, we are brought down by our peers who, without ambivalence, tear the perfect image of life we want to live. As the world unfolds before us, we realise that our standards may not reach up to our expectations. Our little bubbles of wishful thinking pop.

The future is a scary thing, and it impacts on my actions at present: to take chances, or let them slip through my fingers.

So here I am, leading this blog to a kick-start in an attempt to repel my fear of the “real world”. Here I am, ready to make a change.

3 thoughts on “An introduction

  1. so deep bro. soooo deeeeep
    Honestly I dont get it when people say prepare for the real world.
    What do you mean real world?
    Arent we already living? Am i dreaming? Isnt this real?
    We ARE in the real world.
    Its just things get harder in life.
    Teachers and people make it sound so deadly like your not gonna make it or we wont survive.
    But i guess we wont know until we try and to not give up.

    Like

    1. Hahahha hello Tina.
      In this post I refer to the “real world” as the criticism we get from people in our working sector and the increasing competitiveness we will possibly experience.
      But now that you’ve said it, it does make sense! And like you said, I guess we won’t really know how it is like until we reach that stage 😦
      I guess I view the “real world” as a whole new thing because I don’t have proper working experience, eg. managing income/learning to deal with disagreeing customers.
      But don’t forget that when we finally get a job, money will play a very important role in our life. Maybe teachers are referring to how well we will spend our money… and mid-life crisis? Hmm~

      Like

Leave a Reply

